Posted by: Marge Gower | March 27, 2013

Singing to the Lord


Sing to the lord

 

Psalm 95:2 NIV 2010 2 Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song.

I love singing along with Spiritual music. It brings a joyful sound from deep within me. It’s joyful to me, maybe not to the passersby. My voice has changed in the past few years. However, friend of mine told me, “The Lord gave you that voice, give it back to Him. Besides, singing or music is a form of prayer.”

I hope He appreciates my efforts. Music puts me in the spirit for welcoming the Lord. Even when I’m anxious with the business of the holiday seasons, I’m transformed with music.

Lately, I had forgotten to reach for the Lord in this way during my writing. Using this form of prayer, during writing gives me focus and calmness. The soothing words touch my heart and release my anxiety about writing. Music and writing fit so nicely together. While I shout aloud to the Rock of my salvation, rather off-key, my prayer reaches my creator. He, in return, or maybe in self-defense touches my heart and my writing. Let him help you, too.

Lord, Help us to come before You with thanksgiving and praise You with music and song. Help us to keep that song in our heart as we write. Especially during Easter  Jesus, we will thank  You with a heartfelt, joyous song.

Leave a Reply

Categories

