Posted by: Marge Gower | January 13, 2013

Worrying Is Futile


worry

God alone knows exactly how our present actions will affect our futures, so it is useless to worry about it.

As writers, we often worry after submitting a story or article.  We are filled with adrenaline and apprehension. The moment of truth has arrived. Will we measure up. Worry rears it futile head.

This morning, I submitted an entry to a story contest and the apprehension began, as I perused my emails, I  was lost in my thoughts. I couldn’t change my mind now. I had fine tuned the story right up to the moment I sent it. If I hadn’t paid the small entry fee, it might not have gone out.  Just then, I noticed a meditation from American Catholic.org. and clicked on it.

My message from  God popped up and I smiled. Another spark of adrenaline radiated through my body. He was speaking to my heart.  His message was just what I needed. I could go about my day and forget my fears. No matter what happened, God was in charge. I submitted my best work and worrying won’t change the outcome.

This isn’t the first time this has happen and I’m sure it won’t be the last. It’s often been said “God has a sense of humor” or maybe it’s great timing. Which ever it is, in these small ways God lets me know he’s with me. Because he is with me, who can be against me.

Lord, thank you for your being there. I often give into fear and worry. Help us all to remember, that fear doesn’t come from you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

