Posted by: Marge Gower | January 7, 2013

Heart Work


imagesCAJ9MPCW

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,                             Colossians 3:23

When you sit down to write, do you feel an immediate flutter of apprehension? Do you feel the need to measure up to some unknown critique? Do you wonder if you words will be the right words or will they offend another’s soul? What a burden we put on ourselves. Our insecurities can paralyze our writing. We sit back and develop writer’s block, which may be another word for fear of tackling a delicate subject. Do you write and rewrite as a way to avoid hitting the save, send or publish button.

These anxious moments used to be unbearable. To place my thoughts in front of other people brought out my insecure nature. I’ve learned to take a deep breath and remember my desire to write comes from God. Therefore, I pray to feel His guidance with me, when I write. By doing that I’m able put my heart into what I write. Whether I’m writing children’s piece or an adult devotional, I want my words to touch another’s spirit. If I write to please God, I don’t need to worry about human approval.

Lord, help us to remember Your approval is all we need. Help us to feel Your approval within our spirit. Keep us grounded in Your word and love. Amen

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

