Posted by: Marge Gower | September 22, 2012

Gather First Fruits and New Wine


                                               

Honor the LORD with your wealth, with the first fruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine. Proverbs 3:9-10 NIV

I wait impatiently to see my stories brim over with the firsts of my labor. I wait, hoping to receive an acceptance letter or a check from a paying market. I wonder if it will be a sale from a magazine article, a children’s book contract, or a devotional site.  Dreams and goals are part of a writer’s and personal life. Thanking and sharing my talent and prosperity with God is an important part of my journey, too. In my overloaded life, I sometimes forget.

Do you always have yourself on some kind of deadline? It may be self imposed because of balancing your family life with your writing life. Does your head swirl with the demands of you family? Slow down and take the time and realign your life with God. He needs to be your center. By slowing down and including our creator in your schedule, you will feel connected and peaceful.

When I get frazzled because there are more weeds in my garden than crops, I sit back and take a breath. I close my eyes and ask for help. This is hard for me. Not because I don’t need His help, I’m stubborn and want to do it myself. The fruits of my writing will be so much more meaningful, if I would pray, ask and receive.

Lord, help us to stock our barns and fill our vats to overflowing, so that we may honor You. With Your help, we will succeed beyond our dreams and live up to the dreams You have for us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

