Posted by: Marge Gower | September 21, 2012

Flourish in the House of God


olive tree

But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. Psalm 52:8 NIV

I was having a difficult time deciding to retire. My stubbornness caused my problems, when I didn’t turn to God for answers. In my heart, I didn’t want to leave my job, and fought against retiring. However, because of health issues, I needed to retire. Throughout my decision-making, I hadn’t allowed God to be part of the process.

Like me, do you forget to pray, when you have the problem to make a decision about. In your daily life, do you run around busy, busy, busy? We don’t always take quite time to pray about the things that are important to us. It doesn’t have to be a lengthy prayer. On a break at work or take a break at home and find a quiet spot and ask for help. You’ll feel a sense of peace, if you do.

If I had trusted in God’s unfailing love to help me, I wouldn’t have been in such turmoil. I would have flourished in his care. Once I depended on his guidance to get me through the hard decisions and trusted in the answers he sent me, I felt a sense of peace about retiring.

Lord, help us to take a few minutes and talk to you. Help us to be open to receive the answers that you send to us. Help us to be strong like the olive tree and flourish in your unfailing love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

