Posted by: Marge Gower | July 20, 2012

A Clean Heart and Spirit


 

  Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.   Psalm 51:12

As I read those words this morning, I felt renewed. It is comforting to think that all I have to do is ask God and He will renew my heart. As I go through my day, many things interrupt my walk with the Lord. Perhaps I have words with another employee, spouse, or my child. My heart isn’t right with God. I know this and feel bad about myself.

However, just as our children ask us for forgiveness and their hearts become lighter, we can ask God for forgiveness. He will clean our hearts of the old transgressions and renew our spirit. It’s a new day. Just as they start all over again and walk away from us, with forgiveness in their heart. We can walk away from our prayer time, starting out renewed. We will have a new lightness in our heart, as our heart is cleansed.

No matter what we do, it should touch people and cause them to reach for new ways to live their lives. Our lives should help other have gentle spirit as they go on with their walk.

Lord,

Clean our hearts and renew our spirits. Help our lives be a tool for forgiveness. We want our words to be gentle words that will help renew others.

Leave a Reply

Categories

